Send Me a Man Who Reads!

SH605

I love these ads, which were taken out by International Paper in the early 1960’s. [click to embiggen]

il_fullxfull.412685276_q9hk

3 responses to “Send Me a Man Who Reads!

  1. I remember these magazine ads very well. My mom used to quote that phrase religiously, as she was an avid reader who was married to a man (my father) who never read more than the newspaper.

  2. Much reading doesn’t necessarily lead to financial success. It didn’t for my father and it didn’t for me. But he was–and I am–rich nonetheless in ways that can’t be measured on a balance sheet. He did–and I do–feel sorry for people who have millions in “net worth” but who are poverty-stricken in the sense of their lives being narrow in their scope.

  3. I remember these well. I even wrote to International Paper and they sent me some free posters. I was about 12, I think. Thanks for the memories.

Leave a comment