Hunter S. Thompson’s Brutally Honest Job Request

In 1958 Hunter S. Thompson was still a struggling, debt-ridden journalist. In the hopes of securing some work for himself, the man behind Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas penned a rather blunt letter to Jack Scott of the Vancouver Sun:

By the time you get this letter, I’ll have gotten hold of some of the recent issues of The Sun. Unless it looks totally worthless, I’ll let my offer stand. And don’t think that my arrogance is unintentional: it’s just that I’d rather offend you now than after I started working for you.

I didn’t make myself clear to the last man I worked for until after I took the job. It was as if the Marquis de Sade had suddenly found himself working for Billy Graham. The man despised me, of course, and I had nothing but contempt for him and everything he stood for. If you asked him, he’d tell you that I’m “not very likable, (that I) hate people, (that I) just want to be left alone, and (that I) feel too superior to mingle with the average person.” (That’s a direct quote from a memo he sent to the publisher.)

Nothing beats having good references.

The full letter is on the Ottawa Citizen’s website.

Hunter S. Thompson’s Brutally Honest Job Request [Ottawa Citizen]

Leave a Reply

