Ban on 9-Year-Old’s Cafeteria Photos Lasts One Day

9-year-old Martha started a food blog, Never Seconds, a while ago where she uploads pictures of her lunches at her school in Scotland, along with a rating and her commentary. The original goal of the blog was to raise money for a school-meals charity, although it had the added benefit of getting her school to change their meals to make them healthier.

But after a series of inflammatory and sensationalistic news reports bashed the school, she was told that she had to stop. She wrote a last blog post a few days ago, followed by a note from her father thanking the school for their support and noting that he’d contacted the council about the ban:

This morning in maths I got taken out of class by my head teacher and taken to her office. I was told that I could not take any more photos of my school dinners because of a headline in a newspaper today.

I only write my blog not newspapers and I am sad I am no longer allowed to take photos. I will miss sharing and rating my school dinners and I’ll miss seeing the dinners you send me too. I don’t think I will be able to finish raising enough money for a kitchen for Mary’s Meals either.

Goodbye,
VEG

But after the school council received a tremendous amount of attention over the whole thing, they lifted it, with the head of the school council saying that “[t]here is no place for censorship in this council and never will be whilst I am leader”. Something good has come out of the whole thing, as all the attention has resulted in a lot of donations for Mary’s Meals, the charity Martha’s been raising money for. According to her blog, they’ve raised almost 46 000 pounds as of today, enough to set up a kitchen in Malawi.

By the way, the headline, “Fire the Dinner Ladies”, is not at all in the spirit of her blog.

School’s Ban on 9-Year Old Blogger’s Cafeteria Photos Lasts All of One Day   [TheConsumerist]

Leave a Reply

